Explore. Experience. Enjoy.

On This Day: August 8th 2015 – The London Eye

Since the London Eye was launched in 2000, this popular tourist attraction has become one of the most well-known landmarks in the world and offers visitors a bird’s eye view of London. My second visit to “the Eye” was no less exciting than my first, eight years earlier, and being somewhat sunnier was a bonus.

While in the queue (a long one no matter what time you visit, though the lines do move pretty quickly), I noticed someone ahead of us carrying a lot of photography equipment wearing a t-shirt with an Instagram logo that said “@London”. He was in the capsule next to ours and as our giant ferris wheel rose above his, I noticed he was taking a photo of the capsule that my friends and I were in. Naturally, I waved and poked my tongue out (because, why not?).

London 44

My friends and I on the right looking back at Dave Burt taking our photo

I told my friend, Lou, to wave and she said excitedly “Oh I follow him on Instagram! He takes amazing photos!” So I took a photo of him as well. Later that day, I contacted him  (his name is Dave Burt) on Twitter (@Londongramer), we exchanged emails, and the result was a rare treat for us, and I expect, for Dave as well.

IMG_0147

@London (aka Dave Burt) caught in action

 

 

2 responses

  1. This is a really cool experience to have on the London Eye! I’ve been to London a couple of times but never made it on the eye. Your post has shown me that it simply something that must be done.

    Like

    August 8, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Leave a comment